Dreams

11-12-14_10-02 AM

There are very few things I’ve done in my life that I’ve been as proud of as the home I’ve provided for my family. I’ll be the first to admit that it’s got a long way to go…  the interior decorating doesn’t quite live up the curb appeal, I’m afraid, but it’s a sturdy home that I’m incredibly happy I’ve been able to build for Lakeisha and Artemis. And me, of course. I’ve never dreamed I could live in a place like this, but here it is, constructed by my own hands. Yes, I’m patting myself on the back, but I think I deserve it.

11-10-14_11-36 AM-2

I did mention there were other things I was proud of, too, in addition to La Casa Del Rancho Arquero. This woman is certainly one of them. What improbable forces had to line up just right in the universe for me to marry such a wonderful woman? Beauty, brains, and a heart as big as both put together… I don’t know how I could possibly deserve her. If I’ve accomplished anything in my life so far, it’s because of her, her love, and her support. And, in case she’s reading this even though she’s explicitly forbidden from doing so, her boobs. Rawr.

11-11-14_4-23 PM

Last, but most definitely not least, I’m extremely proud of my daughter, Artemis. She’s creative, popular, playful, athletic, a straight-A student… there is just absolutely nothing this girl can’t do. Truth be told, she’s much more like her mother than she is like me. You don’t get as smart as Artemis with my genes. No way.

I’m blessed; there’s just no other explanation for it. Someone up there looked down on a broke, shirtless bar-back with dreams bigger than his sense and said “Yeah, that guy right there. Give him everything he ever wanted.”

Speaking of which, the plans for the new place are coming along nicely. I’ve been working with Travis on designs. We’re thinking a nice upscale restaurant with an attached bar. Lakeisha can lavish guests with her incredible cooking, I can work the bar, and it’ll be something we can pass down to Artemis when the time comes.

I think I’m going to call it “Dreams.”

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. KDee says:

    I’m usually just a lurker, (I’m awfully shy) but I just had to comment on this story.
    I really enjoy it.
    I’ve read many simmy stories and it’s one of my favorites.
    The characters are so very likable.
    Thanks for posting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MsPhy says:

    What an awesome-looking house! I am such a bad builder. As you can see, I’m raising gen 3 and the house still looks kind of like a bomb shelter. I did manage to get it painted recently, though, so more of a stucco bomb-shelter 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment